Subtracting the unnecessary

Time for another journal-like blog entry about my life being in what feels like never ending transition.

I’ve been moved back home with my parents for a month now and I have to say, I really like the me I’m becoming. Some nights are really hard, but being single is what I need right now. I need to find out more about myself. More so I need find an inner strength so that I won’t jeopardize parts of who I am to fit someone else’s mold and keep my people pleasing nature in check.
Something I’ve found to be good for me is I’ve become a starting level minimalist. In this time in my life I want simple, true and meaningful things. No unnecessary distractions.

Minimalism:
The intentional promotion of our greatest passions and the removal of everything that distracts us from them.

Minimalism for me is subtracting the complicated, fear, toxic, chaotic and clutter. It’s about adding the positive things and people that bring positivity and joy. Caring about my health, caring about what I do with my time, caring about my faith and having life experiences to enrich me. At the end of the day, you can’t take things with you. Things can remind us of good moments and make us smile. 
That is why I believe “less is more.”

2 thoughts on “Subtracting the unnecessary

  1. fychildress@gmail.com

    Great thoughts Kelsey. I’m so happy that your home and doing great. keep the growing going.!! Gpa Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Grandma

    Glad you are back home. How are you liking your new work place? We are praying for you. God has someone special for you.

Leave a comment